Home / News Archive / 2011.05.03 City Election 2011

City Election 2011


In the City of New Buffalo, both incumbent City Council Members were re-elected:

William J. Geisler:  312 (re-elected)
Susan Maroko:  272 (re-elected)

Thank you for voting!

At their Tuesday, May 17 organizational meeting, the City Council re-elected William J. Geisler for his third term as Mayor, and Migs Murray was re-elected to her second term as Mayor Pro Tem.  The terms for Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem are each one year.



The following Special Parks Millage for the City of New Buffalo was successfully renewed:

Shall the City of New Buffalo renew a levy of .4634 Mill ($.4634 per $1000) on taxable value of property located in the City of New Buffalo for five years beginning with the 2011 tax levy year and running through the 2015 tax levy year (inclusive), which will raise in the first year of such levy an estimated revenue of Ninety Four Thousand Three Hundred Dollars ($94,300.00) to be for the specific purpose of improvements to the City of New Buffalo Parks? If approved, this authorization would be the renewal of an existing millage.

Yes:  299 (approved)
No:  114

Thank you for voting!


In the New Buffalo Area Schools School Board Election, incumbent Member Judith Handley
Zabicki was re-elected, with 670 total votes from all three precincts (New Buffalo City, New Buffalo Township, and part of Chikaming Township.

Renewal of the New Buffalo Area Schools Operating Millage was approved.  Here is the total for all three precincts:

Yes:  628 (approved)
No:  214

Thank you for voting!