Home / Staff & Departments

City Staff & Departments

City Staff Structure

The City of New Buffalo has a council-manager form of government, with a five member City Council which is elected at-large.  The mayor is annually selected in November by and from the City Council, and they appoint the City Manager.

The City Council directly supervises the City Manager and the City Attorney.  Because the City of New Buffalo has a council-manager form of government, all City staff and departments are supervised by the City Manager, except the office of City Attorney, which is supervised by the City Council.

Administrative Officers and Staff Members

City Manager, David Richards

As the Chief Administrative Officer of the City, and by City Charter, the City Manager supervises five appointed administrative officers:

  • City Treasurer Kate Vyskocil
  • City Clerk Lori K. Vander Clay
  • City Assessor Chuck Sittig
  • Chief of Police Richard Killips
  • Fire Chief Chris Huston

The City Manager also supervises departmental superintendents:

  • Water Superintendent Ken Anderson
  • Department of Public Works Director - Vacant
  • Parks Director Kristen D'Amico

The City's other full-time administrative staff members include:

  • Utility Billing/Payroll Specialist Nancy Mast
  • Deputy Clerk - Donna Schultz
  • Administrative Assistant Amy Fidler
  • Police Dept. Administrative Assistant, Vicki Youst

City Organization

Here is an organizational chart with City staff and departments.

Please use the links to the left for more information regarding City staff and departments.


Many City staff members have years of experience with the City.  Others are just getting started here.  The City is very thankful for their years of dedicated public service.  (as of April 20, 2015)

Administrative Staff:
City Manager David Richards
City Clerk Lori K. Vander Clay

City Treasurer

City Assessor

Kate Vyskocil

Chuck Sittig

Building Inspector Ted Hanson - Safebuilt.com


Deputy Clerk Donna Schultz


Utility Billing/Payroll Nancy Mast
Administrative Assistant Amy Fidler


Police Department:

Chief of Police Richard Killips
Sargent Jason Grimmett
Patrolman Michael Cluster
Patrolman Russell Tillery
Patrolman Scot Olney
Patrolman David Hockenhull



Administrative Asst.

Nate Voytovick


Vicki Youst


Fire Department:

Fire Chief Chris Huston


Parks Department:

Parks Director Kristen D'Amico
Parks Worker Bob Ferrell
Dept. of Public Works:
DPW Director Vacant
Street Worker Bob Ferrell
Street Worker Fred Schultz
Licensed Mechanic
Utility Worker Joshua Bolton
Water Department:
Water Superintendent Kenneth Anderson
Water Plant Operator Robert Gruener
Water Plant Operator Jeffrey Johnson
Water Plant Operator Christopher Huston

Please see the City staff history page for a list of previous City administrative officers.